Executive Board

Laura Zommer


Laura Zommer is the President of the Executive board. She is also the Executive & Editorial Director of Chequeado, a fact-checking site in Argentina, and co-founder of Factchequeado in the U.S.

Ismael Nafría

Vice President

Ismael Nafría is Vice President of SembraMedia’s Executive boards. Also, hi is the director of National Geographic España magazine.

James Breiner


James Breiner is an assistant professor at the University of Navarra in Pamplona, Spain.

Patrick Butler


Patrick Butler is secretary of SembraMedia’s Executive boards. In addition, he supervises all staff at the International Center for Journalists working on training programs.

Teresa Frontado


Teresa is a member of SembraMedia’s Executive board and the Executive Editor of KUT/ Texas Standard in Austin, TX.

Advisory Board

Juanita León

Advisory Board

Juanita León is the director of La Silla Vacía, an independent Colombian media organization.

Eduardo Bertoni

Advisory Board

Eduardo Bertoni is representative and coordinator of the Regional Office for South America of the Inter-American Institute of Human Rights (IIDH).

Alejandro Alvarado Bremer

Advisory Board

Dr. Alejandro Alvarado is coordinator of the Master's Program in Spanish Journalism at Florida International University (FIU).

Ramón Salaverría

Advisory Board

Ramón Salaverría is a professor of journalism at the University of Navarra (Spain), where he is the vice-dean of research at the Faculty of Communication.

Glenda Umaña

Advisory Board

Glenda Umaña is one of the most recognized and valued Latin American journalists.

Charo Henriquez

Advisory Board

Charo Henriquez is the editor of newsroom development and support at The New York Times.

Lindsay Green-Barber

Advisory Board

Lindsay Green-Barbe is the founder of Impact Architects, a firm that specializes in the design of high-impact journalism.

Patricia Torres-Burd

Advisory Board

Patricia Torres Burd is the General Manager of Media Advisory Services for the Media Development Investment Fund (MDIF).

Amy Schmitz Weiss

Advisory Board

Amy Schmitz Weiss is an associate professor at San Diego State University's School of Journalism and Media Studies.

Luz Mely Reyes

Advisory Board

Luz Mely Reyes is the Co-founder of Efecto Cocuyo in Venezuela.

David LaFontaine

Advisory Board

David LaFontaine is a consultant, book author and professor of digital journalism. His experience in media and digital technology has taken him as a visiting professor to universities.

Rosental Calmon Alves

Advisory Board

Rosental Calmon Alves is a professor of journalism at the University of Texas at Austin, where he holds the Knight Chair in Journalism and the UNESCO Chair in Communication.

Fabiola Torres

Advisory Board

ICFJ Knight Fellow and member of the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists (ICIJ). She is founder of Salud con Lupa.

Maria Catalina Colmenares-Wiss has more than 15 years of experience in media management and investment analysis in Latin America.




Suscríbete a nuestro boletín y recibe una vez al mes nuestra curaduría de oportunidades, herramientas y noticias sobre el ecosistema de medios digitales.